design:retail | DDI: Call for Markopoulos Award Nominations 

Design:Retail Network


Subscribe to the Magazine

Breaking News

DDI: Call for Markopoulos Award Nominations 
January 08, 2013

DDI Magazine would like to ask for your nominations for this year's Markopoulos Award, one of the industry's most prestigious honors recognizing outstanding achievement and contributions in visual merchandising and store design. Each year, DDI presents one industry professional with the Markopoulos Award, an honor named after the late visual merchandising legend Andrew Markopoulos. The following criteria should be used as a guide in nominating a candidate:

1)   Lifetime achievement, overall accomplishments, awards and recognitions
2)   Providing innovation and inspiration for the industry and others
3)   Contribution to the success of a retailer and/or the industry
4)   Nurturing/mentoring the next generation
5)   Contribution to, participation in and support of the retail design and visual merchandising industries as a whole
6)   Admirable role model: professionally, personally

Send nominee's name, title, company and contact information, along with an explanation of how this person exemplifies the spirit of the award, to DDI's Executive Editor Alison Embrey Medina at Deadline for nominations is Jan. 18, 2013.

About the award

DDI established the Markopoulos Award in 1996 to recognize outstanding achievement and contributions in visual merchandising and store design. It is named in honor of the late Andrew Markopoulos, former senior vice president of visual merchandising and store design for Dayton Hudson, whose vision and principles helped establish the artistry and prestige for this profession. Nominations for the award are open to anyone in the industry, and the winning candidate is determined by a vote of the prior winners. Past winners include: Ignaz Gorischek, Tony Mancini, Judy Bell, James Mansour, Linda Fargo, Chuck Luckenbill, Simon Doonan, Christine Belich, James Damian, Michael Cape, Alfredo Paredes, Ralph Pucci, Tom Beebe, Denny Gerdeman and Eric Feigenbaum.